Skip to Main content

Press Releases

AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia Earns NCQA Multicultural Health Care Distinction

AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia, a Medicaid managed care plan serving the District of Columbia and a member of the AmeriHealth Caritas Family of Companies, announced that it has earned Multicultural Health Care Distinction from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA). AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia is one of seven AmeriHealth Caritas Medicaid managed care health plans to hold Multicultural Health Care Distinction.

AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia offers the following services, among others, to serve the diverse needs of its membership:

  • Online cultural competency training for its network providers.
  • Targeted outreach to Spanish- and Amharic-speaking members for participation in the health plan’s Member Wellness Advisory Council (MWAC) and various health promotion programs.
  • Collaboration with community-based organizations to provide nutrition and wellness programs in languages other than English.
  • Annual analyses of network providers to ensure they meet the cultural needs of members.
  • Culturally specific meal plans to help members prepare culturally appropriate meals that positively impact their chronic or acute health conditions.

“Health equity has been and always will be central to our mission,” said Karen Dale, market president for AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia. “We continue to offer our members an unwavering path to improved health outcomes through culturally appropriate care, and we remain committed to building healthier, safer communities for all District residents.”

NCQA awards distinction to organizations that meet or exceed its rigorous requirements for multicultural health care. The Multicultural Health Care program evaluates how well an organization complies with standards for the following areas:

  • Collection of race, ethnicity and language data.
  • Provision of language assistance.
  • Cultural responsiveness.
  • Quality improvement of culturally and linguistically appropriate services.
  • Reduction of health care disparities.

“Cultural competency is crucial to providing high quality health care,” said NCQA President Margaret E. O’Kane. “Organizations achieving Multicultural Health Care Distinction are leaders in closing the ethnic and racial disparities gap, and NCQA commends them for their dedication.”

NCQA’s Multicultural Health Care Distinction Report Card lists health care entities holding Multicultural Health Care Distinction.

NCQA is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving health care quality. NCQA accredits and certifies a wide range of health care organizations. It also recognizes clinicians and practices in key areas of performance. NCQA is committed to providing health care quality information for consumers, purchasers, health care providers and researchers.

About AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia

AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia, a member of the AmeriHealth Caritas Family of Companies, is a Medicaid managed care health plan that serves Medicaid recipients living throughout the District of Columbia. Headquartered in the District, AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia is a mission-driven company dedicated to helping members get care, stay well and build healthy communities.

About AmeriHealth Caritas

AmeriHealth Caritas is part of the Independence Health Group in partnership with Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan. AmeriHealth Caritas is one of the nation’s leaders in health care solutions for those most in need. Operating in 17 states and the District of Columbia, AmeriHealth Caritas serves more than 5.7 million Medicaid, Medicare and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) members through its integrated managed care products, pharmaceutical benefit management and specialty pharmacy services, behavioral health services, and other administrative services. Headquartered in Philadelphia, AmeriHealth Caritas is a mission-driven organization with more than 30 years of experience serving low-income and chronically ill populations.